You are here

News

Tue, 09/04/2018

Attorney filers may use a new method for requesting an extension of time to answer or otherwise plead to a complaint if the time originally prescribed to plead has not expired.  This request may now be filed as a text-only entry.  A separate...

Wed, 08/29/2018

Electronic filers in the U.S. Bankruptcy Court, District of Kansas filing system, CM/ECF, can now pay fees through Pay.gov using Automated Clearing House (ACH).  ACH is an electronic funds transfer system that permits payment of filing fees...

Fri, 08/17/2018

Beginning September 1, 2018, bankruptcy attorneys will be required to electronically file the Declaration Re: Electronic Filing under seal. 

See ...

Fri, 07/06/2018

Starting September 1, in Wichita, Judge Dale L. Somers will hear all motions for all chapters at 10 a.m. on his designated docket dates.  
See the new Wichita calendar and...

Mon, 06/11/2018

Beginning Monday, June 18, 2018, attorneys, clients and visitors to the Robert J. Dole Courthouse in Kansas City, Kansas must use the south doors, on State Avenue, to enter the building.  The north doors, on Nebraska Avenue, will no longer be a...

Fri, 05/25/2018

We are pleased to announce the appointment of the Honorable Judge Dale L. Somers as Chief Judge of the Bankruptcy Court for the District of Kansas effective June 1, 2018.
 
A native of Norton, Kansas, the Honorable Dale L. Somers...

Thu, 04/19/2018

Pay.gov will be unavailable temporarily for a disaster recovery exercise on:
Saturday, May 12, 2018, at 5:00 pm, for approximately 4 hours
Saturday, June 2, 2018 at 5:00 pm, for approximately 4 hours

Thu, 03/29/2018

A redline of Local Bankruptcy Rules that were substantively changed, effective March 17, 2018, and a summary of the...

Mon, 03/19/2018

Effective March 17, 2018, LBR 5005.1, Appendix 1-01, Section VI requires sealed documents to be filed electronically unless otherwise ordered by the court, or unless exceptions in the Rule...

Mon, 03/19/2018

Local Bankruptcy Rules (LBRs), effective March 17, 2018,  are available at Local Rules & Orders.
 
A few updates to the LBRs are highlighted here: 
 
2002.2  Updates to...

Pages