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IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF KANSAS

In Re:

KRISTIN KAE GOWIN,

DEBTOR.
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CHAPTER 13

KRISTIN KAE GOWIN,

PLAINTIFF,

v. ADV. NO. 99-7125

AUTOS, INC.,

DEFENDANT.

MEMORANDUM OF DECISION

This proceeding is before the Court for decision following a bench trial.  The plaintiff-debtor

(“the Debtor”) appeared by counsel Fred W. Schwinn of the Consumer Law Center, P.A., formerly of

Topeka, Kansas, but now of Livermore, California.  Defendant Autos, Inc. (“Autos”), appeared by

counsel Richard F. Hayse of Morris, Laing, Evans, Brock & Kennedy, Topeka, Kansas.  The Court

has heard the evidence, reviewed the relevant materials, and is now ready to rule.

This proceeding arose from the Debtor’s purchase of a car from Autos, Autos’ financing of the

sale, and Autos’ subsequent repossession and resale of the car.  The Court previously granted the

Debtor partial summary judgment for Autos’ violation of §3-3071 of the Kansas Uniform Consumer

Credit Code (“the U3C”) by its use of a prohibited negotiable instrument in a consumer credit sale. 
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The Court denied summary judgment on six additional claims made by the Debtor; the trial concerned

these claims.  The Debtor’s additional claims were that Autos:  (1) violated U3C §3-202 by omitting

from the note a notice of rights in the transaction; (2) violated U3C §5-110 and -111 by failing to give

her notice of a right to cure payment defaults before repossessing the car; (3) violated §9-504(3)2 of

the Kansas Uniform Commercial Code (“UCC”) by failing to give her notice before it resold the car;

(4) violated UCC §9-504(2) by failing to account to her for a surplus it realized in the resale; (5)

converted the surplus Autos realized when it resold the car; and (6) violated §626(a) and (b)(3)3 of the

Kansas Consumer Protection Act (“KCPA”) by failing to inform her before the sale that the car she

was buying had been formerly branded “salvage.”  Because the events in this case occurred before July

1, 2001, the provisions of Article 9 in effect before that date (“Old Article 9”) are applicable.4

FACTS

On December 11, 1998, the Debtor bought a car from Autos on credit for $2,995 plus Kansas

sales tax of $184.19, and a finance charge of $290.81.  The transaction was completed with at least

three documents, a “Retail Sales Contract, Disclosure Statement, & Security Agreement” (“the

Financing Agreement”), a promissory note (“the Note”), and a “Kansas Used Vehicle Sales Contract”

(“the Sales Contract”).  The Financing Agreement said the Debtor was making a $600 down payment,
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but in fact, she paid only $200 down and signed the Note for the other $400.  The Sales Contract also

showed $600 in a box labeled “Less total down payment,” but “Pd 200 12/11” was written over the

box’s label.  The Note indicated that the Debtor was to pay $200 on December 17 and another $200

on December 24, and contained a space for an interest rate that was left blank.  The Debtor never

made these payments.

Shortly after the sale, the car needed some repairs.  An electrical problem was fixed on

December 17 for $90.75, and a steering problem was fixed on December 21 for $174.  Autos paid for

these repairs.

At the time of the sale, Autos did not have a title for the car.  When Autos received a title

(which states that it was issued on December 22, 1998), the title was marked “Formerly salvage” at the

top, and contained the statement, “This vehicle is no longer titled as a non-highway vehicle due to

vehicle being salvaged or totaled.”  No evidence was presented to show why the car was “formerly

salvage,” or that Autos knew about the salvage notations before it received this title.  No evidence was

presented to show that the condition of the car gave any indication its title would show it had ever been

salvaged or totaled.  Autos completed the “first re-assignment by licensed dealer” portion on the back

of the title as needed to transfer the title to the Debtor, but never gave it to her.  Autos never told the

Debtor about the salvage notations on the title.  When Autos filled in the re-assignment portion of the

title, it believed a sale had occurred, and intended to deliver the title to the Debtor.  Sometime later,

Autos decided that no sale occurred because it did not receive either of the $200 payments required by

the Note. 

According to an Autos salesman, Ronny Uel Cheatham, he phoned the Debtor after either the
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first or second missed payment on the Note.  He claimed she told him on the phone that she could not

pay for the car, wanted out of the deal, and would bring the car back to Autos; he said he agreed to

this arrangement.  He made no written notes about this alleged conversation.  Mr. Cheatham testified

that when the Debtor did not return the car, Autos sent agents to look for it.  Around January 2, 1999,

the agents found the car, with a flat tire, parked on a street several blocks from the address the Debtor

had given them when she bought the car.  The agents took the car back to Autos’ lot.  Before this

repossession, Autos did not demand that the Debtor return the car or give her any notice of a right to

cure payment defaults.

The Debtor testified that the only conversation she had with Autos’ agents after the sale was to

seek repairs for the car’s electrical and steering problems.  She denied discussing or offering to

surrender the car to Autos.  She testified that although she did not talk to Autos about it, she was in fact

not satisfied with the car, and by the time she filed a Chapter 13 bankruptcy petition on January 6,

1999, she did not want to pay for the car and had no desire to keep it.  The Debtor said she last saw

the car on January 1, parked with a flat tire near her boyfriend’s home, but was aware it had

disappeared from there before she filed for bankruptcy.  When she bought the car, the Debtor was

living at the address she gave Autos, but later moved to her boyfriend’s home.

The Debtor filed a Chapter 13 plan along with her bankruptcy petition.  Her plan provided that

she would surrender the car to Autos upon confirmation.  Without seeking or obtaining stay relief,

Autos sold the car to a third party around the end of January 1999 for $500 more than the Debtor had

agreed to pay for it.  The Debtor’s plan was confirmed in April 1999, before either of the deadlines for

creditors to file proofs of claim had expired.  Autos never filed a proof of claim in the bankruptcy case,
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and has taken no collection action against the Debtor since it repossessed the car.

In December 1999, the Debtor filed this adversary proceeding, asserting claims under the

federal Truth in Lending Act, the U3C, the UCC, and the KCPA, along with a claim for conversion. 

She later abandoned her claims under the Truth in Lending Act, but moved for summary judgment on

her claims under the Kansas statutes and for conversion.  The Court granted only partial summary

judgment, treating the Note and the Financing Agreement as part of one consumer credit transaction

under the U3C.  As indicated above, the Court concluded the use of the Note in the transaction

violated the prohibition in U3C §3-307 against the use of a negotiable instrument in a consumer credit

sale.

DISCUSSION AND CONCLUSIONS

1.  Autos’ Affirmative Defenses

Autos asserts two affirmative defenses to the Debtor’s claims.  If successful, either of them

would defeat all the Debtor’s claims.  Consequently, the Court will consider them first.

a. Plan confirmation as bar to Debtor’s claims

Autos’ first affirmative defense is that the Debtor was not entitled to bring this action because

she did not list any claims against Autos as assets in her bankruptcy schedules, and neither her plan nor

the order confirming the plan reserved the right to pursue them.  This argument essentially repeats one

made earlier in this case in a motion to dismiss or abstain that Autos filed before it answered the

Debtor’s complaint.  In response to that motion, the Debtor disclosed that her counsel had contacted

the Chapter 13 trustee about these claims and reached an agreement, subject to approval by the Court,

that any recovery on the claims beyond attorney fees and related costs would be split evenly between
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the Debtor and the bankruptcy estate.  The Court denied Autos’ motion at a hearing on March 2,

2000, and an order to that effect was entered a short time later.  A more thorough explanation of the

Court’s reasons for rejecting this defense seems to be called for now.

The Court notes that the Debtor did list the car in her schedules as an asset, and provided in her

Chapter 13 plan that she would surrender the car to Autos upon confirmation.  This indicates that when

she filed for bankruptcy and filed her plan, she was unaware that Autos had repossessed the car, and

so was not yet aware that she had any causes of action against Autos arising from the repossession. 

Furthermore, the order confirming the Debtor’s plan, like all this Court’s Chapter 13 confirmation

orders, provided that property of the estate would not re-vest in the Debtor until the Court approved

the trustee’s final report and account.  This prevented any property of the estate from vesting in the

Debtor on confirmation as it otherwise would have under 11 U.S.C.A. §1327(b).  Consequently, the

Debtor could not deliberately fail to disclose an asset in order to keep it all for herself.

The cases Autos cites to support its argument here were all Chapter 11 cases,5 proceedings

that are not governed by the short time frames for proposing plans and obtaining confirmation that apply

in Chapter 13.  Because, as it did in this case, the Court often confirms Chapter 13 plans before the

deadlines for filing proofs of claims have passed, the Court would be hesitant to hold that debtors’

objections to claims or their counterclaims against creditors are barred by plan confirmation. 

Nevertheless, the Court has found a number of decisions in Chapter 13 cases ruling that plan
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confirmation barred the debtor’s post-confirmation litigation against a creditor; in all of those cases,

though, the defendant-creditors had filed proofs of claim before confirmation, the debtors’ plans had

provided for payment to the creditors, and the post-confirmation litigation attacked the allowed amount

of the creditors’ claims.6  So even if the Court might otherwise agree with these Chapter 13 decisions,

they are distinguishable from this case.  Autos filed no proof of claim, so there was no filed claim for the

Debtor to object to before confirmation, the Debtor’s plan proposed to surrender the car to Autos, not

to pay Autos any money, and the causes of action asserted in this proceeding do not attack Autos’ lien

on the car or conflict with the Debtor’s surrender of the car to Autos under her plan.  The Debtor’s

plan merely provided that she would relinquish possession of the car, not that she would relinquish any

causes of action arising out of her transaction with Autos or Autos’ resale of the car.  Even assuming a

Chapter 13 debtor would have authority under §554 of the Bankruptcy Code to abandon claims like

the Debtor is making here, nothing about her plan or the confirmation order indicates that she did so.

Autos states that the reason for the rule making plan confirmation bar a debtor’s subsequent

lawsuit against a creditor is that “permitting debtors to conceal the possibility of suits until after

confirmation of their plans would serve to deprive the creditors of a share of any eventual recovery.”7 

But that will not happen here.  The Chapter 13 trustee has authorized the Debtor’s attorney to pursue
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this action on behalf of the bankruptcy estate and agreed, subject to Court approval, that the Debtor

and the estate will share in any recovery from Autos.

For these reasons, the Court concludes that the order confirming the Debtor’s Chapter 13 plan

did not preclude her from pursuing the claims she has asserted against Autos in this proceeding.

b.  Defense under Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code

On the merits of the Debtor’s claims, Autos relies on Article 2—Sales of the UCC, arguing it

had the right to resell the car under K.S.A. 84-2-703, -706, and other provisions.  Autos concedes

that it gave the Debtor no notice of default and right to cure, gave her no notice that it was going to sell

the car, and retained the additional money the subsequent buyer agreed to pay for the car.  Thus, if this

defense is not available to Autos, it has admitted it failed to comply with a number of otherwise

applicable statutes.  The Court notes that Autos does not rely on any facet of K.S.A. 8-135 as a

defense to the Debtor’s claims against it.

Under Article 2 of the UCC, Autos first points out that it was not only a secured party in its

transaction with the Debtor, but also a “seller” under §2-103(d),8 which defines “seller” as “a person

who sells or contracts to sell goods.”  As a seller, Autos argues it could rely on UCC §2-703, titled

“Seller’s remedies in general,” which provides in pertinent part:

Where the buyer wrongfully rejects or revokes acceptance of goods or fails to make a
payment due on or before delivery or repudiates with respect to a part or the whole, then with
respect to any goods directly affected . . . , the aggrieved seller may

(a) withhold delivery of such goods;
(b) stop delivery by any bailee as hereafter provided . . . ;
(c) proceed under the next section respecting goods still unidentified to the



9K.S.A. 84-2-703.

10K.S.A. 84-2-706(1) & (6).

11K.S.A. 84-2-702.

9

contract;
(d) resell and recover any damages as hereafter provided (section 84-2-706);
(e) recover damages for nonacceptance . . . or in a proper case the price . . . ;
(f) cancel.9

Then, Autos turns to UCC §2-706, which provides in pertinent part:  “(1) Under the conditions stated

in section 84-2-703 on seller’s remedies, the seller may resell the goods concerned . . . .

(6) The seller is not accountable to the buyer for any profit made on any resale. . . .”10

Official UCC Comment 1 to §2-706 states that: “The only condition precedent to the seller’s right of

resale under subsection (1) is a breach by the buyer within the section on seller’s remedies in general or

insolvency.”  However, although Autos seems to overlook it, the buyer’s insolvency is a circumstance

not covered by §2-703.  Instead, it is covered by §2-702, which provides:

(1) Where the seller discovers the buyer to be insolvent he may refuse delivery except
for cash . . . and stop delivery under this article (section 84-2-705).

(2) Where the seller discovers that the buyer has received goods on credit while
insolvent he may reclaim the goods upon demand made within ten (10) days after the receipt
. . . . Except as provided in this subsection the seller may not base a right to reclaim goods on
the buyer’s fraudulent or innocent misrepresentation of solvency or of intent to pay.

(3) The seller’s right to reclaim under subsection (2) is subject to the rights of a buyer in
ordinary course or other good faith purchaser under this article . . . .  Successful reclamation of
goods excludes all other remedies with respect to them.11

The Kansas Comment, 1996, to §2-702 adds:

1. This section provides a seller with special remedies upon discovery that the buyer is
insolvent.  Since insolvency is not itself a breach, the seller will not have the remedies provided
in section 84-2-703. . . .

2. Subsection (2) applies when the goods are already in the hands of an insolvent buyer
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and gives the seller a limited right to reclaim the goods.  Passage of title is irrelevant.  Instead,
an unpaid seller on credit may reclaim the goods only if the buyer was insolvent when it
received the goods and if the seller demands reclamation within ten days after the buyer
receives the goods. . . . Since reclamation of the goods amounts to preferential treatment as
against the buyer’s other creditors, subsection (3) bars all other remedies when the seller
successfully reclaims.

The Court notes there is another circumstance under Article 2 where a seller has the right to reclaim

goods from a buyer after delivery, but that is when the buyer used a check to pay money due on or

before delivery of the goods and the check is later dishonored.12  That circumstance does not exist in

this case.

The fate of Autos’ defense depends on the true legal basis for its recovery of the Debtor’s car. 

Under §2-702, discovery of the Debtor’s insolvency would have given Autos the right to reclaim the

car from her for a short time after she received it.  Perhaps peaceably recovering a car from a public

street would be permissible under this provision, but Autos has not alleged that it reclaimed the

Debtor’s car under §2-702, and offered no proof that it made the required demand on the Debtor. 

Instead, it argues that it was entitled to the remedies available under §2-703.  But the remedies under

that provision do not include any right to recover goods from the buyer after they have been delivered. 

Subsections (a), (b), and (c) of §2-703 all address situations where the goods have not yet been

delivered to the buyer, subsection (d) assumes the seller has the goods, subsection (e) allows a

monetary recovery, and subsection (f) simply allows the seller to cancel the contract.  None of them say

anything about the seller having any right to recover goods from the buyer.  Section 2-702, by contrast,
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does concern the seller’s ability to recover goods from the buyer after delivery, based on the buyer’s

insolvency.

The Court is convinced that the Debtor’s voluntary return of the car was necessary for her to

have revoked her acceptance of the car or to have repudiated the sale so that §2-703 would be

applicable.  Even assuming that the Court were to accept Mr. Cheatham’s assertion that the Debtor

told him she intended to return the car to Autos, the fact remains that she did not do so.  Mr. Cheatham

did not say that the Debtor agreed that Autos could come pick up the car.  Instead, Autos simply

waited about a week after the alleged conversation and then, making no attempt to contact the Debtor

to clarify her intentions, Autos had its agents cruise the streets looking for the car, and they found and

repossessed it without talking to the Debtor.  This simply is not enough to establish that the Debtor

chose to rescind the sale.

The only payment that the Debtor was required to make before Autos completed the sale by

delivering the car to her was the $200 down payment; Autos accepted the Note in place of the

additional $400 that the Financing Agreement and the Sales Contract showed she was to pay.  Even

after the Debtor had defaulted by failing to make the first $200 payment on the Note, Autos

demonstrated its belief that the sale was complete by paying for repairs to the car and filling out the

assignment of the title to the Debtor.  In short, the sale was complete when Autos delivered the car to

the Debtor on December 11, 1998, and the Court finds nothing in Article 2 that gave Autos the right to

retake possession of the car without the Debtor’s consent.  The Court concludes that Autos was not

exercising any rights it had as a “seller” under Article 2, but instead was exercising its rights as a

secured creditor under the Financing Agreement and §9-503 of Old Article 9 of the UCC when it
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repossessed the car from the street after the Debtor defaulted on her payment obligations.

2.  The Debtor’s Claims

Having concluded that Autos’ affirmative defenses do not protect it from the Debtor’s claims,

the Court will now address whether the Debtor has shown that she is entitled to recover on those

claims.

a.  Uniform Consumer Credit Code

(1) The use of a negotiable instrument 

As indicated, the Court determined in its summary judgment ruling that Autos’ violated U3C

§3-307 by using the negotiable Note in the transaction.  Because the Debtor’s next claim also concerns

the Note, however, the Court will discuss that claim before determining the penalty it will impose for

this violation.

(2) The omitted notice to consumer

Section 3-202 of the U3C13 requires a written agreement that is to be signed by a consumer

and that evidences a “consumer credit transaction” like the car sale involved here to contain a “clear,

conspicuous, and printed notice” similar to the following:

NOTICE TO CONSUMER:  1.  Do not sign this agreement before you read it. 
2.  You are entitled to a copy of this agreement.  3.  You may prepay the unpaid balance at any
time without penalty.

While the Note did not contain this warning, the Financing Agreement did, so the aim of this provision

was at least partially fulfilled.  The Debtor could have recognized that the notice would apply to the
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Note as well as the Financing Agreement.  On the whole, though, the Court believes that the failure to

include the notice on the Note constituted a technical violation of U3C §3-202.

(3) Punishment for violations of the U3C based on the Note

Section 5-201 of the U3C provides in pertinent part:

(1) If a creditor has violated the provisions of this act applying to . . . certain negotiable
instruments (section 16a-3-307), . . . the consumer has a cause of action to recover actual
damages and in addition . . . to recover from the person violating such provisions of this act a
penalty in an amount determined by the court not less than $100 nor more than $1,000.

. . . .
(8) In an action in which it is found that a creditor has violated any provision of K.S.A.

16a-1-101 through 16a-9-102 [that is, the entire U3C], and amendments thereto, the court
shall award to the consumer the costs of the action and to the consumer’s attorneys their
reasonable fees.  Reasonable attorney’s fees shall be determined by the value of the time
reasonably expended by the attorney and not by the amount of the recovery on behalf of the
consumer.14

At the time Autos sold the car to the Debtor, U3C §5-203 provided in pertinent part:

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a creditor who, in violation of the
provisions of the rules and regulations adopted by the administrator pursuant to K.S.A. 16a-6-
117, fails to disclose information to a person entitled to the information under the provisions of
K.S.A. 16a-1-101 through 16a-9-102, and amendments thereto, is liable to that person in an
amount equal to the sum of:

(a) Twice the amount of the finance charge in connection with the transaction, but the
liability pursuant to this paragraph shall be not less than $100 or more than $1,000; and

(b) in the case of a successful action to enforce the liability under paragraph (a), the
costs of the action together with reasonable attorney’s fees as determined by the court.15

The Debtor has not suggested or shown that she suffered any actual damages as a result of Autos’ use
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of the prohibited Note, so she is only entitled to a penalty of $100 to $1,000 under §5-201(1) for

Autos’ use of the Note.  The finance charge in the transaction was $290.81, so the Debtor would

appear to be entitled to recover $581.62 under §5-203(1)(a) for Autos’ failure to include the notice in

the Note.16  

Under the circumstances, however, the Court believes that §3-307’s complete prohibition

against the use of the Note should control over any other deficiencies in the content of the Note, so the

Debtor should recover only under §5-201 as a result of Autos’ use of the Note.  Nevertheless,

although the Court would be inclined to award the $100 minimum penalty under §5-201(1) because

Autos was trying to help the Debtor out by agreeing to accept the Note in lieu of the full down payment

it had apparently been expecting from her and its use of the Note caused her no actual harm, the Court

will increase the penalty to $300 because the omission of the notice might have been an added, albeit

technical, violation of the U3C.  In any event, the Debtor is entitled to costs and attorney fees under

§5-201(8) because of the Note.

(4) Failure to send notice of right to cure before repossessing car

Two sections of the U3C provide that when a consumer defaults on an installment payment

obligation, the creditor has a one-time obligation to send a notice of the right to cure the default before

it can repossess any collateral securing the debt.  Specifically, §5-110 provides, in pertinent part:  

(1) After a consumer has been in default for 10 days for failure to make a required
payment in a consumer credit transaction payable in installments, a creditor may give the
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consumer the notice described in this section. . . .
(2) The notice shall be in writing and shall conspicuously state:  The name, address, and

telephone number of the creditor to which payment is to be made, a brief description of the
credit transaction, the consumer’s right to cure the default, the amount of the payment and date
by which payment must be made to cure the default and the consumer’s possible liability for
reasonable costs of collection. . . .17

Section 5-111 adds, in pertinent part:

(2) Except as provided in subsection (3), after a default consisting only of the
consumer’s failure to make a required payment in a consumer credit transaction payable in
installments, a creditor may neither accelerate maturity of the unpaid balance of the obligation
nor take possession of collateral because of that default until twenty (20) days after a notice of
the consumer’s right to cure (section 16a-5-110) is given.  Until twenty (20) days after the
notice is given, the consumer may cure all defaults consisting of a failure to make the required
payments by tendering the amount of all unpaid sums due at the time of the tender, without
acceleration, plus any unpaid delinquency or deferral charges.  Cure restores the consumer to
his rights under the agreement as though the defaults had not occurred.

(3) With respect to defaults on the same obligation after a creditor has once given a
notice of consumer’s right to cure (section 16a-5-110), this section gives the consumer no right
to cure and imposes no limitation on the creditor’s right to proceed against the consumer or the
collateral.18

Autos has conceded that it failed to comply with these provisions before it repossessed the Debtor’s

car.  Because the Court has concluded Autos’ allegation that the Debtor voluntarily rescinded their

transaction is wrong, Autos’ violation of these provisions makes it subject to the penalty under U3C

§5-203(1)(a) of twice the finance charge in the transaction, $581.62, plus costs and reasonable

attorney fees under §5-203(1)(b).

b.  Old Article 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code

In light of the Court’s rejection of Autos’ rescission-of-the-sale defense, Autos’ repossession
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and disposition of the car was permissible only because of its security interest in the car.  Besides the

applicable U3C provisions discussed above, Autos’ rights as a secured creditor were governed by the

provisions of Old Article 9 of the UCC.  The Debtor contends that Autos violated part of Old Article 9

§9-504.  It provided in pertinent part:

(2) If the security interest secures an indebtedness, the secured party must account to
the debtor for any surplus, and, unless otherwise agreed, the debtor is liable for any
deficiency. . . .

(3) Disposition of the collateral may be by public or private proceedings and may be
made by way of one or more contracts. . . . Unless collateral is perishable or threatens to
decline speedily in value or is of a type customarily sold on a recognized market, reasonable
notification of the time and place of any public sale or reasonable notification of the time after
which any private sale or other intended disposition is to be made shall be sent by the secured
party to the debtor, if he has not signed after default a statement renouncing or modifying his
right to notification of sale. . . .19

Again, Autos concedes that it did not give the Debtor any notice about its resale of the car, and did not

account to her for the surplus it received in the resale.  

Remedies available for violations of §9-504(2) and (3) were specified by Old Article 9 §9-

507, which provided in pertinent part:

(1) If it is established that the secured party is not proceeding in accordance with the
provisions of this part disposition may be ordered or restrained on appropriate terms and
conditions.  If the disposition has occurred the debtor . . . has a right to recover from the
secured party any loss caused by a failure to comply with the provisions of this part.  If the
collateral is consumer goods, the debtor has a right to recover in any event an amount not less
than the credit service charge plus ten percent of the principal amount of the debt or the time
price differential plus ten percent of the cash price.20

The Kansas Comment, 1996, to this provision stated that:  “The last sentence of the subsection
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provides for a minimum civil penalty where consumer goods are involved. . . . [T]he penalty equals the

entire original finance charge plus ten percent of the amount financed in the case of ordinary loans, or

the time price differential plus ten percent of the cash price for purchase money security interests.”  As

the Court understands it, then, this means the Debtor can to recover the greater of any actual loss she

suffered because of Autos’ violations of §9-504 or the minimum civil penalty, but not both.  

Through her Chapter 13 plan and her testimony at trial, the Debtor demonstrated that she

intended to surrender the car to Autos once her plan was confirmed and did not intend to use the car in

the interim, so she essentially conceded she suffered no loss as a result of Autos’ wrongful repossession

of the car.  This also shows that she would not have made any effort to redeem or otherwise recover

the car if Autos had given her notice of its intended resale.  No evidence was presented to show that

the resale price Autos received for the car was inadequate.  Instead, the only actual damage the Debtor

suffered as a result of Autos’ failure to comply with §9-504(2) and (3) of Old Article 9 was the loss of

the $500 surplus that Autos received in the resale of the car.  Because this case involved a purchase

money security interest, the time-price-differential measure for the minimum civil penalty would apply. 

The price of the car was $2,995; ten percent of that is $299.50.  The time price differential is the extra

amount the Debtor was charged because she would be paying over time; here, the only additional

amount Autos charged was the finance charge of $290.81.21  The sum of these two items is $590.31. 

Because the minimum penalty fixed by the statutory formula exceeds the Debtor’s actual damages, she

is entitled to recover $590.31 for Autos’ violations of Old Article 9.



22K.S.A. 2002 Supp. 50-626(a).

23K.S.A. 2002 Supp. 50-626(b)(3).
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c.  Conversion

Although Autos’ repossession and resale of the car amounted to conversion, the Debtor’s

Chapter 13 plan and her trial testimony made clear that she suffered no damages as a result except for

the loss of the $500 resale surplus.  While Autos acted wrongfully, the Court believes Autos’ actions

were not so blameworthy as to justify an award of punitive damages against it.  Furthermore, because

the penalty provided for the violations of Old Article 9 adequately compensate the Debtor for the loss

of the $500 surplus, the Court concludes it would not be equitable under the circumstances to award

her additional damages for the conversion of the car.

d.  The Kansas Consumer Protection Act

The Debtor claims that Autos committed a deceptive business practice in violation of KCPA

§626(a) and (b)(3) by failing to inform her that the car’s title was “formerly branded salvage” before

selling the car to her.  KCPA §626(a) prohibits “any deceptive act or practice in connection with a

consumer transaction”22 and §626(b)(3) provides that “the willful failure to state a material fact, or the

willful concealment, suppression or omission of a material fact”23 is a deceptive act or practice.  While it

is true that Autos did not inform the Debtor before the sale that the car she was buying was “formerly

salvage,” the evidence showed that Autos did not have the car’s title until about ten days after the sale. 

None of the evidence presented indicated that Autos knew before it received the title that the car had

ever had a salvage title, or that the condition of the car would necessarily have revealed that fact. 

Apparently, for example, a salvage title is issued to an insurance company when it recovers a stolen car



24For ease of reference, the explanation is restated here.  Under the KCPA, a creditor has not
violated §626(b)(3) unless it “purposefully withheld relevant information or misstated facts with the
intention of deceiving [the debtor].”  Gonzales v. Associates Financial Serv. Co., 266 Kan. 141, 166
(1998) (affirming summary judgment for creditor under §626(b)(2) & (3) because no such showing in
record).  The Kansas Judicial Council has indicated that a trial court instructing a jury should give the
following definition for “willful conduct”:  “An act performed with a designed purpose or intent on the
part of a person to do wrong or to cause an injury to another is a willful act.”  Pattern Instructions
Kansas—Civil, 3d, 103.04 (1999).  The Kansas Supreme Court approved this definition in Folks v.
Kansas Power & Light Co, 243 Kan. 57, 74 (1988).
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for which it has already paid its insured.  As the Court explained in its summary judgment ruling, Autos

had to know about the salvage title in order to have willfully concealed it.24  The Court therefore will

deny any relief on the Debtor’s claim under KCPA §626(a) and (b)(3).

3.  Summary

As explained above, the Court concludes that Autos’ affirmative defenses based on the order

confirming the Debtor’s Chapter 13 plan and on Article 2 of the UCC must be rejected.  The Court

further concludes that the Debtor is entitled to recover from Autos:  (1) $300 plus costs and attorney

fees for the U3C violations surrounding the Note; (2) $581.62 plus costs and attorney fees for the

failure to send notice of the right to cure before repossessing the car; and (3) $590.31 for the violations

of Old Article 9 of the UCC.  The Court concludes, however, that the Debtor is not entitled to recover

anything on her claims for conversion and for violation of the KCPA.

The Debtor’s attorney will need to submit time and billing records and any other materials

necessary to establish what fees are properly attributable to the recoveries awarded above that include

attorney fees, and to show that the fees are reasonable.  He should do so no later than June 30, 2003. 

Autos will then have until July 14 to submit any objection it may have to the requested fees.
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The foregoing constitutes Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law under Rule 7052 of the

Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure and Rule 52(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.  A

judgment based on this ruling will be entered on a separate document as required by FRBP 9021 and

FRCP 58.

Dated at Topeka, Kansas, this ____ day of May, 2003.

_________________________________
JAMES A. PUSATERI
BANKRUPTCY JUDGE


